City Departments



The City of Athens has seven departments reporting to the City Manager. Each department of the City was created by the City Council for “the advancement of the welfare of the citizens and residents of Athens.” The departments of Community Development, Finance, Fire, Human Resources, Parks and Recreation, Police, and Public Works currently serve the City, with a department head responsible for daily operations including budgeting, personnel, planning, and general supervision. The Department of Education and the Department of Public Utilities are created by the City Charter but operate with separate boards. The Athens Housing Authority is operated by a five member board appointed by the Mayor. The City Judge and City Attorney are appointed by and serve at the discretion of the City Council.

You will find below a listing of city departments. Individual web pages are currently being developed for each department but are not yet ready for the internet. We invite you to revisit this site often to watch the departments come on-line. In the interim if you need information from a department please check the frequently asked questions (FAQ) page. If you feel that you need additional assistance please check the contact us page for phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

Community Development
Department of Finance
Fire Department
Human Resources
Parks and Recreation
Police Department
Department of Public Works